Fox Valley Celiacs - CSA Chapter 26

To Be Gluten-Free

Gluten-Free Diets must eliminate all Wheat, Barley and Rye Gluten sources, as indicated below by L ; all others must be Questioned.

  • artificial flavors-often undisclosed sources of gluten.
  • L Barley
  • L Beer
  • L Blue Cheese--the mold can be grown on stale wheat bread; however some brands are GF.
  • bouillon--read ingredient list.
  • bran-question the source.
  • brewers yeast--verify source.
  • brown rice syrup--verify source.
  • brown sugar--verify brands; invert sugars from wheat or barley may be used instead of the usual molasses.
  • L Bulgur--wheat derivative.
  • butter flavoring--may contain gluten
  • canned soups--read ingredient list carefully; often contains flavorings & flours from cereal grains.
  • caramel color-can be wheat based, check it out.
  • catchup-check for GF brands.
  • chewing gum-flavorings & binders; sources must be checked.
  • chocolate and chocolate chips--verify brands, some contain flavoring substances derived from offending substances.
  • citric acid--sometimes produced from glucose that can be derived from wheat; check it out.
  • L communion wafers--all are made with wheat starch as per rule of Roman Catholic Church; can be found in GF form, but does not comply with Roman Catholic Church.
  • corn tortillas--belts & ovens can be dusted with flour; verify brands.
  • cosmetics-- must also be GF.
  • cough, cold medicines, & also vitamins--must be GF.
  • L Couscous--wheat.
  • creamers--review ingredient list for cereal grain derivatives.
  • denture powder & adhesives--must be determined GF.
  • dextrin-"can" contain wheat
  • L Dinkle--wheat, common name for spelt.
  • dried whole egg--may contain gluten
  • L Duram--wheat (triticum)
  • egg substitutes--can contain gluten.
  • L Emmer--wheat (triticum)
  • emulsifiers--may contain gluten.
  • enriched products--may contain barley.
  • envelopes--glue contains wheat.
  • ethyl vanillin-artificial vanilla, may contain wheat; use "real".
  • L Farina--hot wheat cereal.
  • fat reducing agents, ie: olestra, wheatex, oatrim, & replace, often contain offending ingredients.
  • fillers--often contains cereal grains & non-defined fiber.
  • food starch--can be wheat or a mixture of several starches.
  • L Fu--dried form of gluten made from wheat.
  • L Gliadin (wheat)
  • glucose--may be made from wheat; verify source.
  • L Glutenin--wheat
  • L Graham flour--wheat
  • L Grain alcohols-fermentation of starches that may be wheat or rye.
  • granary flour-may be combination of flours based on cereal grains.
  • L Gravy mixes--often contain cereal grain based flours & other offending ingredients.
  • L Hydrotriticum--trademark of wheat protein; used in hair & skincare products.
  • groats--hulled crushed cereal grain; must know source of grain.
  • gumbo--thick soup thickened with a starch; know the source of the starch.
  • hard candies--Know that the brand is GF.
  • honey cured hams--verify brand is GF.
  • humus--Verify brand is GF.
  • hydrolyzed plant protein (HPP)--verify source.
  • hydrolyzed vegetable protein (HVT)--verify source.
  • inulin--verify source.
  • invert sugar--from various sources, including wheat; verify source.
  • jambalaya--rice dish usually thickened with wheat flour.
  • L Job’s tears--alternate name for pearl barley.
  • Kamut--wheat variety.
  • lemon flavor--can contain vegetable gum from various sources.
  • luncheon meats--verify brand is GF.
  • malt --can contain barley. Verify source. Corn malt is GF.
  • L Malt barley, malt extract, malt flavoring, malt syrup, malt vinegar, & malted milk--barley.
  • maltodextrins-- when made in the US are GF; other countries make it from wheat.
  • L Maltose-- made from malt extract; contains barley.
  • margarines-- verify brand is GF.
  • L Matza, matzo, matzah--wheat
  • mayonnaise-- verify brand is GF.
  • L Mir--rye.
  • modified food starch-- could be wheat; must verify source.
  • mono and diglycerides-- can come from gluten containing sources.
  • monosodium glutamate (MSG)-- foreign sources are less costly & can contain gluten containing grains.
  • mustard powder-- can contain flour as a filler; verify brand.
  • natural flavorings-- may come from wheat source, verify source.
  • non-diary creamers-- can contain wheat, check source.
  • nuts, dry roasted-- processing agents can contain wheat flour & flavorings.
  • L Oat bran, oat fiber, oat gum, oats--not allowed for newly diagnosed celiacs; can try GF version after intestines heel.
  • L Orzo--Wheat pasta.
  • parmesan cheese--can be dusted with wheat flour during processing; verify brand.
  • Peanut butter--use premium brands
  • preservative--can contain gluten substances.
  • rice malt, rice milk, rice noodles, rice paper, rice syrup--read complete label; some contain wheat or barley.
  • L Roquefort cheese--same as blue cheese; can contain wheat.
  • roux--usually made with wheat flour.
  • L Rye- offending grain.
  • L Seitan--wheat.
  • L Semolina-wheat.
  • soup mixes--must verify brands for many contain gluten.
  • sour cream--verify brands; can contain modified food starch from offending grains.
  • soy sauce--only LaChoy is GF, at this time. Carmel color from barley &/or wheat is within most other brands. L Spelt--wheat
  • spices--verify brands; wheat often used as extenders.
  • stabilizer--often from unidentified sources.
  • sushi--verify "other" ingredients are GF.
  • tomato paste (& other canned tomato products)--verify brand; some contain flours as fillers within spices; also thickeners.
  • textured vegetable protein (TVP)--can be made with gluten containing ingredients.
  • L Triga--wheat grass
  • L Triticale-wheat; rye
  • vanilla (pure) verify brand; some contain sweetners & thickners that are grain based; also alcohol that is grain based.
  • vanilla flavor, vanilla flavoring, vanilla flavor concentrated--all contain varying amounts of various offending ingredients; also alcohol that is grain derived.
  • vegetable starch--verify source.
  • L Wheat, wheat berry, wheat germ, wheat germ oil, wheat gluten, wheat grass, wheat nut, wheat starch--all byproducts of wheat---an offending grain.
  • wieners & sausages--verify brands; contains various ingredients that can contain gluten.
  • yogurts--verify brands; can contain gluten.